Home Site Map Québec Portal Our Offices Français
Laws and regulations Notices Exercising a recourse Follow-up of your file Publications
Home > Publications > Information leaflets > Joint tenancy
JOINT TENANCY

If you prefer the PDF version (255 ko)
IMPORTANT
The contents of this leaflet are for information purposes only and do not replace the legislation.

The staff at the Régie du logement can inform you of the recourse available to you for contesting a decision, the applicable procedure before the Régie and the deadlines involved. However, our staff cannot inform you of the procedures applicable before the other tribunals. If you need assistance, contact an attorney or notary.

Warning

This leaflet is intended for persons wishing to become joint tenants or are presently living in a joint tenancy. However, the subject of joint tenancy is quite complex and is largely subject to interpretation. A multitude of questions arise for which the Régie has no absolute answers. Nevertheless, an opinion may be suggested, although there have been no definite rulings by the court as of yet.

All the examples given in this document concern two joint tenants. Make the appropriate adjustments if there are more than two.

Advantages and Inconveniences

For the tenant

Signing a joint tenancy lease, that is with one or more persons (joint tenants) has its advantages, namely, financial : sharing the cost of the rent and other expenses such as heating, electricity, telephone, etc.

In addition, joint tenancy provides an opportunity to share a larger dwelling, household tasks, etc.

However, one of the joint tenants may decide to leave the dwelling at the end of the lease ; the remaining tenant will then have to assume full responsibility for the lease if he wishes to remain, namely, the payment of the rent.

The joint tenants enter a legal relationship between themselves and with their common landlord1. They must be prepared to face potential difficulties if one of them does not fulfill his obligations.

For the landlord

The advantage for the landlord is having two persons responsible for paying the rent rather than just one.

Because each joint tenant has an individual right to terminate his part of the lease (as a rule, at the end of the lease), the other joint tenant may wish to continue to occupy the dwelling alone. In this case, the landlord loses a guarantee since only the person remaining is responsible for the lease.

A Joint Tenant is Not Just an Occupant

A joint tenant, is a tenant with a written or verbal lease who rents the same dwelling with one or more other tenants.

An occupant, as the word indicates, occupies the dwelling with one or more other tenants. From a contractual point of view, occupants have no rights nor obligations with respect to the landlord because they have no lease. However, if an occupant causes damage to the landlord or his building, he remains responsible given the principle that everyone must behave in ways that do not harm others.

On the other hand, an occupant has rights and obligations toward the other tenant of the dwelling. They must then refer to the written or verbal agreement between them.

To avoid difficulties in the interpretation and possible litigation, it is strongly recommended that leases and other agreements be in writing.

Responsibilities of Joint Tenants

Like the sole tenant of a dwelling, joint tenants must respect the obligations of the lease. Joint tenants must :

  • pay the rent according to the method stipulated in the lease ;
  • act in a reasonable way in using the dwelling ;
  • behave in such a way as not to disturb the normal enjoyment of the landlord or other tenants of the building.

Payment of the rent

The landlord has the right to collect the rent in full. If a joint tenant pays his share but the other does not, the landlord who has received partial payment, could apply to the Régie to recover the amount unpaid. Furthermore, when the rent is late more than three weeks, the landlord could apply to cancel the lease and evict the tenants and all other occupants. If the landlord applies to the Régie, without the tenant otherwise being in default, the tenant is entitled to pay the rent within a reasonable time after the demand.

If the rent is paid within a reasonable time, the costs of the demand are borne by the landlord.

A joint tenant wishing to avoid eviction, must pay the defaulting tenant’s share. He can file a claim against the tenant who is at fault.

Paying the rent : a shared or mutual responsibility ?

Shared responsibility

Generally the obligation to pay the rent is shared. That is, each joint tenant is responsible for his share. For example, if two joint tenants owe $600 for one month’s rent and the case goes to a hearing, each can be required to pay the landlord $300.

Solidary responsibility

If the lease contains a clause stipulating solidarity, one of the joint tenants can be sued for the full rent. In the above example in which two joint tenants were responsible, one only could be required to pay the full amount of $600.

Solidarity must be clearly mentioned. If there is no explicit clause in the lease or a clear agreement between the parties, the joint tenants share responsibilities.

Exceptions may arise in the case of married joint tenants. More information may be given by the Régie if need be.

Other obligations of the lease

If only one joint tenant does not respect his obligations, the landlord can file a claim at the Régie against the defaulting tenant in the same way he would against a sole tenant.

Problems Between Joint Tenants

A joint tenant who is disturbed by another joint tenant’s behaviour or who does not respect the agreement between them (ex. he does not pay his share of the rent), has legal recourses against the defaulting joint tenant.

Rent Increase and Other Modifications to the Lease

We have previously seen that each joint tenant has a personal right of occupancy. Each individual can decide whether or not he wishes to renew the lease or accept or refuse an increase in rent or any other modification to the lease. That is why a cautious landlord should send a notice, separately, to each joint tenant. Furthermore, if only one joint tenant refuses an increase in rent or other change to the lease, the landlord will have to file an application at the Régie to have the rent set.

Non-Renewal of the Lease

Even if no notice of rent increase or modification to the lease has been given by the landlord, the joint tenants have the right to act differently. Thus, joint tenant A could give a non-renewal notice and joint tenant B could wish to continue living in the dwelling.

In such a situation, the lease would be renewed for joint tenant B only. He would thereby assume all the lease responsibilities on his own – particularly paying the rent.

Right to assign the Lease or Sublet

In principle, nothing in the law prevents a joint tenant from assigning or subletting his undivided rights1 of the lease. Even if the landlord agrees to the assignment or subletting, the fact of living in joint tenancy with someone, somewhat restricts the right of the departing tenant to impose a new tenant usually a stranger, on the remaining tenant.

The joint tenant wishing to assign or sublet his undivided share, must give a copy of the assignment or sublet notice simultaneously to the landlord and the remaining joint tenant.

In one or another situation described above, the remaining tenant has a right to refuse the person proposed as a new joint tenant. If he should refuse, he must prove that he is acting in good faith and not abusing his rights in order to cause harm to the departing tenant.

If the landlord or the remaining joint tenant refuses the proposed person without a valid reason, the departing joint tenant can ask the court to rule on his right to assign or sublet.

Practical Advice

For better protection, joint tenants are advised to sign a written joint tenant agreement dealing with all practical aspects of living together. These could include ownership, use of the furniture, liability insurance, the right to sublet or assign the lease and conditions, enjoyment of the dwelling, exclusive use of certain rooms (e.g. a bedroom) sharing the rent (e.g. : 60 % - 40 %) as well as other expenses such as heating, electricity, telephone and cable.

On the other hand, a joint tenant who acts individually regarding his contractual (legal) relationship with his landlord (ex. gives a notice of non-renewal for his portion of the lease), should immediately inform his joint tenant so that the other tenant will not be taken by surprise following a decision made without his knowledge.

WEB SITE OF THE RÉGIE
http://www.rdl.gouv.qc.ca

HOW TO REACH US BY TELEPHONE

From Monday to Friday Between 8:30 a.m. and 4: 30 p.m.

Montréal, Laval and Longueuil areas :
514 873-BAIL (2245) *

Elsewhere in Quebec :
1 800 683-BAIL (2245) *

* An automated information service is available around the clock.

Please have on hand all necessary documents before making your call.

The Régie du logement is under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Municipal Affairs, Regions and Land Occupancy.

FI-220 (05-12)

  1. Owner designates here a lessor within the meaning of the law.
  2. Having an undivided share or an undivided right means one has rights in an asset in its entirety and that those rights are shared with one or more persons. To sum up, there is no physical division of the asset.

Courrier Imprimer Modifier la taille de la police
Search
Rechercher
Quick Access
Laws and regulations
Our On-line Services
Follow-up of your file (in French)
Calculation 2014
Email
Bureau des plaintes

For Lawyers
Press Center
Information leaflets
FAQs
Links


My Québec Services Account



Policy on privacy | Accessibility
Last Update : 2006-12-20

Portail Québec

© Gouvernement du Québec, 2006

Accueil Plan du site Portail Québec Nous joindre English Diminuer la police Augmenter la police
Obligations et droits Les avis Exercer un recours Suivi de votre dossier Publications
Accueil > Publications > Les fiches conseils > La colocation
LA COLOCATION

Si vous préférez la version PDF (255 ko)
AVERTISSEMENT
Les renseignements contenus dans cette fiche-conseil le sont à titre indicatif seulement et ne sauraient remplacer la législation.

Le personnel de la Régie du logement peut vous informer sur les recours possibles pour contester une décision, la procédure applicable devant la Régie et les délais pour le faire. Il ne peut cependant vous renseigner sur la procédure en vigueur devant les autres tribunaux. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance, consultez alors un avocat ou un notaire.

Mise en garde

La Régie du logement offre ce dépliant à l’intention de ceux qui veulent vivre ou vivent déjà en colocation. Toutefois, le domaine de la colocation demeure assez complexe et est largement sujet à interprétation. Il existe donc des interrogations pour lesquelles la Régie ne peut offrir de réponses certaines. Parfois une opinion est suggérée, le tribunal n’ayant pas eu l’occasion de trancher définitivement la question.

Tous les exemples donnés dans ce dépliant concernent deux colocataires, il suffit de faire les adaptations nécessaires s’ils sont plus nombreux.

Avantages et inconvénients

Pour le locataire

Conclure un bail en colocation, c’est-à-dire avec une ou plusieurs personnes (colocataires), comporte des avantages, notamment au niveau financier : le partage du loyer à payer et des autres dépenses (chauffage, électricité, téléphone, etc.). La colocation offre de plus, la possibilité d’occuper un plus grand logement, de partager des tâches, etc.

Par contre, il peut arriver qu’un colocataire décide de quitter le logement à la fin du bail ; celui qui reste devra obligatoirement en assumer seul la responsabilité, notamment en ce qui a trait au paiement du loyer.

Les colocataires s’engagent donc dans une relation juridique à la fois entre eux et avec un propriétaire1 commun. Ils doivent être prêts à envisager certains désagréments comme le défaut par l’un d’eux d’exécuter ses obligations.

Pour le propriétaire

Pour sa part, le propriétaire peut compter sur deux personnes responsables du loyer plutôt qu’une seule.

Cependant, à cause du droit individuel de chaque colocataire de mettre fin au bail en ce qui le concerne (en principe à la fin du bail seulement), l’autre colocataire peut vouloir continuer d’habiter seul le logement ; le propriétaire perd ainsi une garantie de paiement, car il ne reste plus qu’une personne responsable du bail.

Un colocataire : à distinguer d’un simple occupant

Un colocataire est un locataire qui loue un logement, par bail écrit ou verbal, avec un ou plusieurs autres locataires.

Un occupant, comme le mot l’indique, occupe les lieux avec un ou plusieurs locataires, mais sans avoir de droits ou d’obligations contractuelles à l’égard du propriétaire, n’ayant conclu avec lui aucun bail. Cependant, si l’occupant cause des dommages au propriétaire ou à son immeuble, il en sera néanmoins tenu responsable selon le principe que toute personne doit se conduire de manière à ne pas causer de préjudice à autrui.

Par ailleurs, un occupant a des droits et des obligations envers les autres locataires du logement. Il faut alors se référer à l’entente qu’ils ont conclue.

Pour éviter toute confusion et pour faciliter la preuve, il est recommandé que le bail et toute autre convention soient faits par écrit.

Les obligations des colocataires

Comme tout locataire occupant seul un logement, les colocataires doivent respecter les obligations du bail. Entre autres, ils doivent :

  • payer le loyer selon les modalités prévues au bail ;
  • utiliser le logement en personnes raisonnables ;
  • se conduire de façon à ne pas troubler la jouissance normale du propriétaire ou des autres locataires de l’immeuble.

Le paiement du loyer

Le propriétaire a le droit de percevoir le loyer au complet. Si un colocataire paye sa part mais que l’autre omet de la faire, le propriétaire, n’ayant reçu qu’un paiement partiel, a le droit de demander, dès qu’il y a retard, le recouvrement de la somme impayée. Par ailleurs, lorsqu’il y a retard de plus de trois semaines, il peut demander la résiliation du bail et l’expulsion de tous les locataires et autres occupants. Toutefois, si le propriétaire introduit une demande devant le tribunal, sans que le locataire ait reçu, au préalable, une mise en demeure, le locataire a le droit de payer le loyer dans un délai raisonnable à compter de la demande. Si le loyer est payé dans ce délai, les frais de la demande sont à la charge du propriétaire.

Ainsi le colocataire désireux d’éviter la résiliation du bail peut se voir contraint de payer la part du colocataire fautif, quitte à engager lui-même, par la suite, des procédures contre ce dernier.

Payer le loyer : une obligation conjointe ou solidaire ?

Obligation conjointe

En principe, dès qu’il y a plus d’un locataire, l’obligation de payer le loyer est conjointe. C’est-à-dire que chaque colocataire est responsable jusqu’à concurrence de sa part. Par exemple, si deux colocataires doivent un mois de loyer à 600$, chacun peut normalement être tenu de payer au propriétaire seulement 300$.

Obligation solidaire

Si le bail contient une clause prévoyant la solidarité, un seul colocataire peut être poursuivi pour la totalité du loyer. Dans l’exemple précédent, un seul d’entre eux pourra être tenu de payer la somme totale, soit 600$.

La solidarité doit être prévue de façon expresse, par une clause au bail ou dans une entente entre les parties. À défaut de clause ou d’entente, l’obligation est simplement conjointe.

Exceptionnellement, il y a des situations où la solidarité existe automatiquement : à l’égard des colocataires mariés. Dans ce cas, n’hésitez pas à vous renseigner auprès de la Régie du logement.

Les autres obligations du bail

Si un seul colocataire fait défaut de respecter ses obligations, le propriétaire peut faire valoir ses droits devant la Régie comme il le ferait envers un locataire unique.

Problèmes entre colocataires

Un colocataire a également des recours contre un colocataire au comportement répréhensible ou qui autrement ne respecte pas la convention de colocation (exemple : il ne paye pas sa part des dépenses du logement).

L’augmentation du loyer et les autres modifications au bail

On a vu précédemment que chaque colocataire a un droit individuel au maintien dans les lieux. Chacun peut donc décider, en ce qui le concerne, de renouveler ou non le bail ou d’accepter ou pas une hausse de loyer ou une autre modification. C’est pourquoi un propriétaire prudent prendra soin de faire parvenir un exemplaire de son avis, séparément, à chaque colocataire. De plus, même si un seul colocataire conteste une augmentation de loyer, le propriétaire doit déposer une demande à la Régie pour qu’elle fixe tout le loyer.

La non-reconduction du bail

Même en l’absence d’avis d’augmentation ou de modification, chaque colocataire a le droit d’agir différemment de l’autre. Ainsi, le colocataire A peut décider de ne pas reconduire le bail, tandis que le colocataire B préférera continuer d’habiter seul le logement. Dans un tel cas, le bail sera reconduit seulement à l’égard du colocataire B qui assumera dorénavant seul toutes les obligations du bail, y compris le paiement du loyer.

Le droit de céder le bail ou de sous-louer

En principe, rien dans la loi n’interdit à un colocataire de sous-louer sa part indivise2 ou de céder ses droits indivis dans le bail. Cependant, même si le propriétaire est favorable à la cession ou à la sous-location, le fait de vivre en colocation peut limiter le droit du colocataire qui a l’intention de quitter, d’imposer à celui qui reste, une autre personne qu’il ne connaît pas ou avec qui il ne veut pas cohabiter. Néanmoins, le colocataire qui désire céder ou sous-louer sa part, devrait transmettre à la fois au propriétaire et au colocataire restant une copie de l’avis de cession ou de sous-location et obtenir leur consentement à l’acte envisagé.

Dans l’une ou l’autre des situations que l’on vient de décrire, le colocataire restant peut exercer son droit de refus; il doit cependant agir de bonne foi et non d’une manière excessive et déraisonnable ou dans l’unique but de nuire au colocataire partant.

Advenant un refus jugé abusif du propriétaire ou du colocataire restant, le colocataire partant peut demander à la Régie de se prononcer sur son droit de céder ou de sous-louer.

Quelques conseils pratiques

Pour mieux se protéger, les colocataires seraient bien avisés de conclure – par écrit – une convention de colocation où ils régleront les aspects pratiques de la cohabitation, tels : propriété et usage des meubles, assurance-responsabilité, droit à la cession ou sous-location et leurs modalités, jouissance du logement, jouissance exclusive de pièces comme une chambre à coucher, partage de tâches, répartition du loyer (exemple : 60% - 40%) et des autres coûts, tels chauffage, électricité, téléphone, câblodistribution.

Par ailleurs, le locataire qui, dans ses relations contractuelles avec le propriétaire, pose seul un acte (exemple : donner un avis de non-reconduction pour sa part du bail) devrait en aviser aussitôt son colocataire afin que ce dernier ne soit pas pris par surprise par un acte posé à son insu.

ADRESSE DU SITE INTERNET DE LA RÉGIE
http://www.rdl.gouv.qc.ca

COMMENT NOUS JOINDRE PAR TÉLÉPHONE

Du lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30

Régions de Montréal, Laval et Longueuil :
514 873-BAIL (2245) *

Autres régions :
1 800 683-BAIL (2245) *

* Service de renseignements automatisé offert 24 heures sur 24.

Afin de faciliter l’entretien téléphonique, réunissez d’abord tous les documents utiles.

La Régie du logement relève du ministre des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire.

FI-220 (05-12)

  1. Propriétaire désigne ici locateur au sens de la loi.
  2. Posséder une part indivise d’un logement signifie avoir des droits dans tout le logement et les partager avec d’autres personnes, sans que des parties spécifiques du logement soient attribuées à un colocataire en particulier.

Courrier Imprimer Modifier la taille de la police
Recherche
Rechercher
Accès rapide
Lois et règlements
Nos services en ligne
Suivi de votre dossier
Calcul 2014
Courrier
Bureau des plaintes

Pour les avocats
Le centre de presse
Nos fiches-conseils
Foire aux questions
Les liens

Gouvernement ouvert

Mon dossier citoyen



Politique de confidentialité de la Régie | Accessibilité
Dernière modification : 2011-02-23

Portail Québec

© Gouvernement du Québec, 2006