Home Site Map Québec Portal Our Offices Français
Laws and regulations Notices Exercising a recourse Follow-up of your file Publications
Home > Publications > Information leaflets > Paying the rent

If you prefer the PDF version (255 ko)
The contents of this leaflet are for information purposes only and do not replace the legislation.

The staff at the Régie du logement can inform you of the recourse available to you for contesting a decision, the applicable procedure before the Régie and the deadlines involved. However, our staff cannot inform you of the procedures applicable before the other tribunals. If you need assistance, contact an attorney or notary.

Paying the Rent : a tenant's number one obligation

Paying the rent, in full and on the date fixed, is a tenant's principal obligation. It is one of the essential elements of the contract, i.e. the lease.

A tenant and a landlord can reach an agreement on various terms and conditions for paying the rent. It is in the interest of both of them to clearly specify the terms and conditions on the lease.

When and where should the rent be paid?

Under the law, if the parties do not make any particular arrangements regarding payment of the rent, it is up to the landlord or the landlord's mandatary to collect the rent at the tenant's home on the agreed date.

If the parties arrange to pay the rent at another location, it is up to the tenant to ensure that the landlord receives the payment on the agreed date.

In any case, it is in both parties' interest for all terms and conditions to be clearly established, especially the specific time of day at which payment is to be made, for example, between 7 p.m. and 9 p.m. on the first day of the month.

Both parties must act in good faith without abusing their individual rights.

To whom should the rent be paid?

What matters is to ensure that payment is made to the right person (landlord, mandatary, management company, etc.); otherwise, it might be necessary to pay a second time.

When a tenant is uncertain of who is entitled to the rent (e.g. in the event of the sale of the immovable, a death, bankruptcy, the withdrawal of authorization to collect rent served by a hypothecary creditor), the tenant can apply to the Régie du logement for authorization to deposit the rent there.

Payment methods

In what form should the rent be paid?

If the agreed rent is a sum of money, payment can be made in cash (Canadian funds), or by postal money order, certified cheque, bank money order or bank draft. Payment can even be made by credit card, through a transfer of funds, or, in some places, by debit card, where the landlord has the capability for such payments.

What about paying by ordinary cheque? An ordinary cheque is generally accepted because it is a practical method for everyone. It is important to note, however, that the landlord is not bound to accept that payment method, unless an agreement is reached in that regard. Technically, the rent is paid once the cheque has been honoured by the financial institution.

What matters is to pay the rent in full. A landlord is not required to accept partial payment.

If the agreed rent is something in lieu of money, such as the performance of certain work, the work must be performed as provided for in the lease.

A landlord cannot

  • require a payment exceeding one month's rent;
  • demand advance payment of more than the first term of rent (without exceeding one month). The landlord can, however, require the advance payment to be cashable immediately even if the lease comes into effect at a later date. For example, in the case of a lease signed on April 15 but beginning on July 1, the landlord can ask the tenant to provide a cheque, cashable immediately, for the first month's rent only;
  • demand additional amounts on deposit or in another form, for instance, to guarantee the keys are returned;
  • demand post-dated cheques.

If a clause in the lease provides for such practices, it is invalid and the tenant is not obliged to comply with it. The tenant can apply to the tribunal to have his or her rights respected—for example, to recover his or her postdated cheques or deposit.

Proof of payment

A tenant has the right to require that he or she be given a receipt as an attestation of the payment of rent. A receipt can be useful because, in the event of a dispute, the burden of proving that the rent was paid lies with the tenant. Hence, the importance of proof in writing.

It is wise to keep proof of payment for three years.

Failure to pay

  • Non-payment of the rent

    A tenant who does not pay his or her rent in full on the agreed day is in default as of the next day. The landlord can, as of that time, file an application with the Régie to recover the rent owing, interest and the costs related to the application.

    Before filing an application, the landlord would do well to issue a formal notice to pay to the tenant, in order to avoid having to assume the costs of the application should the tenant pay in a reasonable time.

  • More than three weeks late

    In this case, the consequences can be more far-reaching. Not only can the landlord request that the tribunal order the tenant to pay the rent and other costs, but also the resiliation of the lease and the eviction of the tenant and the other occupants.

    Resiliation of the lease can be avoided if the tenant pays, before judgment, the rent owing, as well as costs and interest at the rate provided in section 28 of the Act respecting the Ministère du Revenu, or at the rate agreed by the parties if it is lower.

  • Frequent late payments

    The landlord can also request the resiliation of the lease if the rent is frequently paid late. However, in addition to proving the late payments, the landlord must show that serious prejudice (damage)—such as a large financial loss stemming from the frequent late payments—was suffered.

If the rent is not paid, the tribunal can resiliate the lease and order the eviction of the occupants, even in winter.

Execution of the tribunal’s decision

Once a decision has been rendered, the parties must abide by it. If they do not, the landlord must wait until the deadlines provided for have expired before having the decision executed.

Note 1 : When a decision resiliates the lease for non-payment of the rent and if the lessee has paid the rent that is due, the costs and interest before the decision, the plaintiff cannot undertake the eviction procedure.

If the plaintiff does undertake the eviction procedure, the lessee can oppose it by addressing the Court of Québec.

Note 2 : Following the resiliation of the lease and the tenant's eviction, the tenant remains liable (although no longer in the dwelling) for the loss in rent sustained, and the expenses incurred (heating, electricity, newspaper ad) by the landlord until the dwelling is leased again. The landlord must take steps to reduce any prejudice that he or she might suffer personally.

For more information, see the leaflet "Executing a decision of the tribunal".



From Monday to Friday
Between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.

Montréal, Laval and Longueuil:
514 873-BAIL (2245)*

1 800 683-BAIL (2245)*

* An automated information service is available around the clock.

Please have on hand all necessary documents before making your call.

The Régie du logement is under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Land Occupancy.

FI-020 (05-12)
Courrier Imprimer Modifier la taille de la police
Quick Access
Laws and regulations
Our On-line Services
Follow-up of your file (in French)
Calculation 2016
Bureau des plaintes

For Lawyers
Press Center
Information leaflets

My Québec Services Account

Policy on privacy | Accessibility
Last Update : 2006-12-20

Portail Québec

© Gouvernement du Québec, 2006

Accueil Plan du site Portail Québec Nous joindre English Diminuer la police Augmenter la police
Obligations et droits Les avis Exercer un recours Suivi de votre dossier Publications
Accueil > Publications > Les fiches conseils > Le paiement du loyer
LE PAIEMENT DU LOYER

Si vous préférez la version PDF (255 ko)
AVERTISSEMENT
Les renseignements contenus dans cette fiche-conseil le sont à titre indicatif seulement et ne sauraient remplacer la législation.

Le personnel de la Régie du logement peut vous informer sur les recours possibles pour contester une décision, la procédure applicable devant la Régie et les délais pour le faire. Il ne peut cependant vous renseigner sur la procédure en vigueur devant les autres tribunaux. Si vous avez besoin d’assistance, consultez alors un avocat ou un notaire.

Payer le loyer : c’est l’obligation première d’un locataire

Payer le loyer, au complet et à la date prévue, c'est la principale obligation d'un locataire. Il s'agit de l'un des éléments essentiels du contrat : le bail.

Le locataire et le propriétaire peuvent s'entendre sur diverses modalités entourant le paiement du loyer. Les deux auront intérêt à clairement les écrire au bail.

Quand et où doit-on payer le loyer ?

La loi prévoit que si les parties n'ont rien prévu de particulier sur la question, il appartient au propriétaire ou à son mandataire d'aller chercher le loyer au domicile du locataire à la date convenue.

Si les parties ont convenu d’un autre lieu de paiement, il revient au locataire de s’assurer que le propriétaire reçoive le paiement à la date convenue.

Dans un cas comme dans l'autre, vous avez intérêt à vous entendre clairement sur toutes ces modalités et plus particulièrement sur un moment précis de la journée pour effectuer ce paiement, comme par exemple le 1er du mois entre 19 h et 21 h.

Chacun doit agir de bonne foi sans abuser de ses droits.

À qui payer ?

Ce qui importe, c'est de s'assurer que l'on paie à la bonne personne (propriétaire, mandataire, compagnie de gestion, etc.), car autrement on risque de se retrouver dans une situation où il faudra payer une seconde fois.

Lorsque le locataire est incertain de la personne qui a droit au loyer (exemples : la vente de l'immeuble, un décès, une faillite, un retrait de l'autorisation de perception du loyer signifié par un créancier hypothécaire), dans un tel cas, le locataire peut demander à la Régie du logement l'autorisation d'y déposer son loyer.

Modes de paiement

Sous quelle forme payer son loyer ?

Si le loyer convenu est une somme d'argent, le paiement peut être fait en monnaie courante (argent canadien), par mandat postal, chèque certifié, mandat ou traite bancaire. Si le propriétaire est en mesure d'en faire le traitement, on peut même payer par carte de crédit ou par virement de fonds ou, dans certains endroits, par paiement direct.

Qu'en est-il du paiement par chèque ordinaire? Le chèque ordinaire est généralement accepté parce qu'il est un mode de paiement pratique pour tous. Mais il faut savoir que le propriétaire n'est pas tenu de l'accepter à moins d'entente à cet effet. Le loyer est alors techniquement payé lorsque le chèque est honoré par l'institution financière.

Ce qui importe, c'est de payer le loyer en totalité. Le propriétaire n'est pas tenu d'accepter un paiement partiel.

Si le loyer convenu est autre chose qu'une somme d'argent, par exemple, l’exécution de certains travaux, alors l'exécution doit se faire comme prévu au bail.

Le propriétaire ne peut

  • exiger de versement dépassant un mois de loyer;
  • exiger d’avance que le paiement du premier terme de loyer (n'excédant toutefois pas un mois). Il peut par contre exiger que cette avance soit encaissable immédiatement même si le bail commence à une date ultérieure. Par exemple, pour un bail signé le 15 avril mais débutant le 1er juillet, le propriétaire est en droit de demander au locataire un chèque encaissable immédiatement pour le loyer du premier mois seulement ;
  • exiger des sommes additionnelles à titre de dépôt ou autre pour, disons, garantir la remise des clés;
  • exiger des chèques postdatés.

Une clause du bail qui prévoit de telles pratiques est sans effet et le locataire n'est pas tenu de la respecter. Il peut demander au tribunal de faire respecter ses droits, par exemple de se faire remettre ses chèques postdatés ou son dépôt.

L'utilité d'une preuve du paiement

Le locataire a le droit d'exiger un reçu attestant le paiement du loyer. Un tel reçu n'est pas inutile puisque, en cas de litige, c'est au locataire que revient le fardeau de prouver le paiement du loyer. De là l'importance d'une preuve écrite.

Il serait prudent de conserver une preuve de paiement du loyer durant 3 années.

Le défaut de paiement

  • En cas de non-paiement du loyer

    Si le locataire ne paie pas son loyer dans sa totalité le jour convenu, dès le lendemain il est en défaut. Le propriétaire peut dès lors déposer une demande à la Régie pour recouvrer le loyer dû, les intérêts et les frais de la demande.

    Par ailleurs, avant de déposer une demande, le propriétaire aurait intérêt à mettre le locataire en demeure de payer, à défaut de quoi le propriétaire risque de devoir assumer les frais de sa demande si le locataire paie dans un délai raisonnable.

  • En cas de retard de plus de trois semaines

    Dans ce cas les conséquences peuvent être plus coûteuses. Le propriétaire peut demander au tribunal que son locataire lui paie le loyer et autres frais mais aussi la résiliation du bail et l’expulsion du locataire et des autres occupants.

    Il est possible d'éviter la résiliation si le locataire paie, avant jugement, le loyer dû de même que les frais et les intérêts au taux prévu par l'article 28 de la Loi sur le ministère du Revenu, ou au taux convenu entre les parties s'il est plus bas.

  • En cas de retards fréquents

    Le propriétaire peut aussi demander la résiliation du bail si le loyer est fréquemment payé en retard. Toutefois, en plus de prouver ces retards, il devra démontrer qu'il en subit un préjudice (dommages) sérieux. Il peut s’agir, par exemple, de la preuve d’une perte financière importante reliée aux retards fréquents ou découlant d’un retard fréquent.

À défaut de paiement du loyer, le tribunal peut résilier le bail et ordonner l’expulsion des occupants même en hiver.

L'exécution de la décision du tribunal

Une fois la décision rendue, les parties doivent s'y conformer. À défaut, le propriétaire doit attendre l'expiration des délais prévus avant de la faire exécuter.

Note 1 : Lorsque la décision résilie le bail pour non-paiement de loyer et que le locataire a payé le loyer dû, les frais et les intérêts avant la décision, le demandeur ne peut plus entreprendre les procédures d’expulsion.

À défaut le locataire peut s’opposer à cette procédure en s’adressant à la Cour du Québec.

Note 2 : Après la résiliation du bail et l’expulsion d’un locataire, ce dernier sera responsable (même s’il n’habite plus le logement) de la perte du loyer et des frais engagés par le locateur (chauffage, électricité, annonce dans les journaux) jusqu’à ce que le logement soit loué de nouveau. Le locateur doit entreprendre les démarches pour diminuer le préjudice qu’il pourrait subir.

Pour plus d’informations sur ce sujet vous pouvez vous procurer le dépliant « Exécuter une décision du tribunal ».

ADRESSE DU SITE INTERNET DE LA RÉGIE
http://www.rdl.gouv.qc.ca

COMMENT NOUS JOINDRE PAR TÉLÉPHONE

Du lundi au vendredi de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30

Régions de Montréal, Laval et Longueuil :
514 873-BAIL (2245) *

Autres régions :
1 800 683-BAIL (2245) *

* Service de renseignements automatisé offert 24 heures sur 24.

Afin de faciliter l’entretien téléphonique, réunissez d’abord tous les documents utiles.

La Régie du logement relève du ministre des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire.

FI-020 (05-12)
Courrier Imprimer Modifier la taille de la police
Recherche
Rechercher
Accès rapide
Lois et règlements
Nos services en ligne
Suivi de votre dossier
Calcul 2014
Courrier
Bureau des plaintes

Pour les avocats
Le centre de presse
Nos fiches-conseils
Foire aux questions
Les liens

Gouvernement ouvert

Mon dossier citoyen



Politique de confidentialité de la Régie | Accessibilité
Dernière modification : 2011-02-23

Portail Québec

© Gouvernement du Québec, 2006