Home Site Map Québec Portal Our Offices Français
Laws and regulations Notices Exercising a recourse Follow-up of your file Publications
Home > Publications > Information leaflets > How to Prepare for a Hearing
HOW TO PREPARE FOR A HEARING

Introduction

You have filed an application at the Régie du logement, or you have received a copy of an application.Whether you are the applicant or the defendant, it is important to prepare yourself for the hearing and leave nothing to chance. The defendant has no written procedure to file at the Régie du logement, but it does not mean that he has nothing to do before the hearing The present leaflet is a guide for the applicant and the defendant.

Serving the application

The party against whom the action is being taken must know the grounds and the object of the application in order to be able to prepare his response at the hearing.

The applicant must, as soon as possible after filing the application, serve a copy on the other party (défendant).  The applicant has the responsibility to prove, at the hearing and to the satisfaction of the commissioner, that the other party received a copy of the application.

The applicant may serve the application by :

  • Registered mail,
  • Bailiff,
  • Hand (person to person) .

Registered Mail

Since January 1st, 1999, there are three methods to prove the other party received a copy of the application.

  1. Internet
    On Canada Post Web site (http://www.postescanada.ca), you will obtain a confirmation of the sending and delivery dates.

  2. FAX
    By telephone request at Canada Post (1-800-267-1155) , you will obtain, by fax, a confirmation of the sending and delivery dates.

    It is important to note that these means are free, but they do not permit to know the name of the person who signed for the reception.  Therefore, if at the hearing the proof of the reception is contested, the commissioner may require the proof of it by the signature confirmation.

  3. SIGNATURE CONFIRMATION

  4. If the signature of the person who signed for the reception is required, it can be obtained by telephone request at Canada Post. Canada Post will send, within 3 working days, a photocopy of the register on which the signature and the date of the reception of the sending are written down.  That information will be sent collect on delivery (C.O.D.) at the cost of 5.00 $ plus taxes. (Those costs are subject to change; please contact Canada Post to verify if changes occured.)

BAILIFF

The bailiff's Return of service constitutes proof that it was received.

HAND (person to person)

If the application is served by hand, the confirmation of receipt signed by the addressee, or the testimony of someone who was present when the copy was received by the addressee, may constitute proof that it was received

The applicant may also use any other methods that will allow him to prove that the application was received.

However, regardless of the method used, if the commissioner is not satisfied with the proof presented at the hearing by the applicant to the effect that the other party received a copy of the application, he may request that the proof be completed or order that it be served again.

If the applicant is unsuccessful in serving an application by any of these methods (e.g., the application is sent back to him by return mail), a commissioner may at any time and upon request, authorize another methods to serve it.  If this occurs, you should contact one of the Régie's offices immediately.

COSTS OF SERVING

If the applicant wants the defendant to be condemned to reimburse the costs of serving the application, he must give to the commissioner the receipt from Canada Post or the bill of the bailiff  to prove he paid those costs.  However, the commissioner has discretion to grant or not those costs.

AMENDMENTS

The applicant may, without charge, complete or modify the application by an amendment.  This amendment must be filed and served on the other party before the hearing.  You must submit to the commissioner, at the beginning of the hearing, proof that your amendment was served.

If an amendment adds a new party, a copy of the original application must also be served on the new party.

Please note that a commissioner may, during the hearing and in the presence of the other party, accept a verbal amendment.

MANDATES

If, for a serious reason, you are unable to attend the hearing, you may mandate someone else to represent you.

Who may represent you?  A lawyer, your spouse, a relative, an in-law (e.g., brother-in-law, or sister-in-law) or, if need be, a friend.

A corporation or cooperative may be represented by an officer, a director, an employee exclusively employed by it, or a lawyer.

If the application only concerns a claim of $7,000 1 or less, a lawyer cannot represent you.

How do you give a mandate?  Unless you are represented by a lawyer or your spouse, the mandate must be in writing, signed by you, and must indicate the reasons for your absence.  The person to whom you give the mandate must agree to represent you without being paid to do so.

Except for lawyers, the mandatary of a corporation or cooperative must be authorized to act by a resolution of the Board of Directors.

The role of the mandatary.  At the hearing, your mandatary acts in your name.  He must have first-hand knowledge of the facts or, barring that, be in a position to prove the facts through witnesses or otherwise, as you would have done.

POSTPONEMENTS

You may obtain a postponement of the hearing to a later date by filing the written consent of the other party.

Barring that, you or your mandatary may request a postponement in writing, or verbally at the hearing.  In this instance, the request for postponement is not granted automatically.  It is the commissioner's responsibility to decide whether it is justified given the circumstances of the case.

However, to avoid unnecessary costs, you should give the other party a copy of your letter or inform him that you or your mandatary will ask for a postponement at the hearing.

AGREEMENTS BEFORE THE HEARING

If, before the hearing takes place, you reach an agreement, the Régie will close the case upon the filing of a copy of the agreement signed by the parties.  However, should the applicant require it in writing, the case will be suspended.  Thereafter, the case will only be placed on the roll upon the written request of one of the parties.

PROOF

Read carefully the application and its amendments, if any.   In it, you will find all the elements you will have to prove or refute during the hearing.

The applicant must prove each allegation in the application by means of documents and testimony.

In the same way, the application informes the other party of the elements that he must admit, clarify or refute, through documents and testimony.

However, the person claiming to have fulfilled his obligation must prove it (e.g., a tenant who claims that he paid his rent must prove this; the landlord who claims that he did repairs must prove it).

The law establishes the rules about how evidence can be given before the Régie, and the commissioner must apply these rules.

Proof to present at the hearing

Besides the proof of the serving, in all cases, you must produce :

  • the lease and subsequent notices of modification ;
  • the mandate, if any.

And, depending on the nature of the application, the following are additional pieces of evidence you may need.

Documents

N.B.  When you send documents to the other party, you must keep the proof that they were sent and received and bring you must produce this at the hearing.

  • Notices required by law (e.g., Notice of Modification to the conditions of the Lease, Notice of Repossession);
  • the formal notice;
  • correspondance;
  • the new tenant's lease after, for example, the former tenant abandoned the premises;
  • proof of advertising (newspaper clippings and corresponding invoices);
  • invoices and proof of payment;
  • photographs;
  • temperature and humidity-level readings;
  • all other useful documents.

If there is something in writing that you want to use as proof, you must produce it at the hearing.

N.B. : Petitions are only admissible if the signatories are present at the hearing.

Witnesses

To ensure the presence of a witness, you must, at your own expense, have a bailiff serve him, at least 3 days before the date of the hearing, with an Order to Appear issued by a commissioner of the Régie du logement.  A commissioner may reduce this time limit.

The witness must have first-hand knowledge of the facts.  Having been told that facts occured or that something was said proves neither the facts nor what was said.  Only the person having first-hand knowledge of the facts, or who participated in or was present during a conversation, may testify about it.

Depending on the nature of the application, you may require the testimony of an estimator, expert or inspector.  Such witnesses must be present at the hearing in order to present their estimation, expertise or report.  Do not forget to summon the person who signed the document (the signatory) with an Order to Appear as soon as you receive the Notice of hearing.

Written testimony

If the orther party agrees, a written declaration may replace personal testimony at the hearing.

If the other party does not agree, the commissioner may, in exceptional circumstances, accept the written testimony of a person who is not present.  The party wishing to obtain such an authorization must so advise the other party or give him a copy as early as possible before the hearing unless the commissioner decides otherwise.

The commissioner will only accept the document if it is demonstrated that it is impossible for the witness to appear or unreasonable to require it, and that the declaration was made under circumstances that reasonably guarantee its accuracy.

It must be absolutely impossible for a witness to appear (e.g., a deceased witness or one living out of the province).  Simple difficulties, such as the witness not wishing to appear, the witness expressing fear or the witness having to work the day of the hearing, are not sufficient.

In certain cases, the law allows a report to be presented even if the author is not present.  These cases involve reports from certain municipal and provincial inspectors.

Remember that these are exceptional cases and that, as a general rule, witnesses must appear.

THE HEARING

As soon as you receive the Notice of Hearing from the Régie, make sure that you :

  • read the application carefully;
  • (for the applicant) have on hand proof that the application and amendments, if any, were served;
  • gather all the documents you need to prove your case;
  • clearly identify your documents and place them in chronological order, to avoid to search for them at the hearing.  This way will avoid everybody losing time, not only to the persons attending the same hearing as you, but also to the persons waiting for their own hearing.
  • identify the witnesses you will need at the hearing and, if necessary, have them summoned by order of the Régie.

You must arrive at the time stated on the Notice of Hearing.

The parties and those attending the hearing must behave respectfully and be suitably dressed.

In almost all cases, the hearing is recorded.

At the beginning of the hearing, the parties must identify themselves and take a solemn oath to tell the truth.

Then the applicant presents his proof first and subsequently the other party presents his.  Each party has the right to question the witnesses.

Throughout the hearing, the commissioner assists each of the parties in a fair and impartial manner.

The hearing must deal exclusively with the contents of the application and its amendments.  The commissioner may refuse to hear a witness or accept a written document if he decides it is not pertinent to the case.

In rendering his decision , the commissioner may take into account only the evidence presented at the hearing.

N.B. If you have produced the originals of documents as proof at your hearing before the Régie du logement, it would be recommended to recover them when the decision is rendered.

Warning

The contents of this brochure are for information purposes only and not intended to substitute for the legislation.

The Decision

Depending on the nature of the application, a decision may be appealed with the permission of a judge of the Court of Québec or be reviewed by the Régie du logement.

In certain cases, no appeal is possible (e.g., a decision regarding an application having as its sole object the recovery of a sum of money of $7,000 1 or less). Under certain circumstances, a revocation is possible. Consult the Régie if you need further information.

Where to go to have a decision of the Régie executed? :

When executable, a decision of the Régie can be executed after having been registered at the office of the Court of Québec that will issue a writ of execution. You must bring to the office of the court a certified copy of the decision.

Once the writ of execution issued, a bailiff may proceed with the execution of the decision.

The procedures of execution are not performed by the Régie but by the applicant and at his own expenses.


Recommended reading: the information leaflets entitled Executing a Decision of the Tribunal and Contesting a Decision of the Tribunal. These information leaflets are available free of charge at any Régie du logement or Services Québec office. There are also available on this website. 

Courrier Imprimer Modifier la taille de la police
Search
Rechercher
Quick Access
Laws and regulations
Our On-line Services
Follow-up of your file (in French)
Calculation 2014
Email
Bureau des plaintes

For Lawyers
Press Center
Information leaflets
FAQs
Links


My Québec Services Account



Policy on privacy | Accessibility
Last Update : 2008-09-08

Portail Québec

© Gouvernement du Québec, 2006

Accueil Plan du site Portail Québec Nous joindre English Diminuer la police Augmenter la police
Obligations et droits Les avis Exercer un recours Suivi de votre dossier Publications
Accueil > Publications > Les fiches conseils > Comment se préparer à une audience
COMMENT SE PRÉPARER À UNE AUDIENCE

Introduction

Vous avez produit une demande à la Régie du logement, ou reçu copie d'une demande. Que vous soyez demandeur ou défendeur, il est important de bien se préparer en vue de l'audience et de ne rien laisser au hasard. Celui qui agit comme défendeur n'a aucune procédure de contestation écrite à produire à la Régie du logement, mais cela ne signifie pas qu'il n'a rien à faire en attendant l'audience. La présente brochure se veut un guide tant pour le demandeur que pour le défendeur.

La signification de la demande

La partie poursuivie doit connaître les motifs et l'objet de la demande pour pouvoir se préparer à y répondre à l'audience.

Le demandeur doit, dans les meilleurs délais après la production de la demande à la Régie, en signifier une copie à l'autre partie (le défendeur). Le demandeur a la responsabilité de prouver, à l'audience, à la satisfaction du régisseur, que l'autre partie a reçu une copie de la demande.

Le demandeur peut signifier la demande :

  • par courrier recommandé;
  • par huissier;
  • de main en main.

Par courrier recommandé

Depuis le 1er janvier 1999, il existe trois possibilités de prouver que l'autre partie a reçue copie de la demande.

  1. Internet
    À l'adresse Internet de la Société canadienne des postes, on obtiendra une confirmation de la date à laquelle l'envoi a été posté ainsi que la date de livraison. (http://www.postescanada.ca) 

  2. Télécopieur
    En téléphonant à la Société canadienne des postes (1-800-267-1155), on pourra obtenir, par télécopieur, une confirmation de la date à laquelle l'envoi a été posté ainsi que la date de livraison.

    Il est important de noter que ces deux moyens sont gratuits, mais ne permettent pas de connaître le nom de la personne qui a reçu le document. Par conséquent, si un problème de preuve de réception surgit lors de l'audience, le régisseur pourra, s'il le juge opportun, exiger la confirmation de la réception par la preuve de la signature.  

  3. Confirmation de signature

  4. Si la signature de la personne ayant reçu l'envoi est requise, il faudra en faire la demande, par téléphone, à la Société canadienne des postes. Celle-ci expédiera, dans un délai d'environ 3 jours ouvrables, une photocopie du registre sur lequel la signature et la date de réception de l'envoi sont inscrites. Cette information sera transmise par la Société canadienne des postes par "envoi contre remboursement" (C.O.D.) au coût de 5,00 $ plus taxes. (Ces frais sont sujets à modifications. Veuillez donc vérifier auprès de la Société canadienne des postes si des modifications sont intervenues).

Par huissier

Le procès-verbal de l'huissier constitue alors la preuve de réception.

De main à main

Si la demande est remise de main à main, l'accusé de réception signé par le destinataire ou le témoignage d'une personne qui a assisté à la remise de la copie au destinataire peut constituer la preuve de réception.

Le demandeur peut également utiliser tout autre mode permettant de prouver la réception de la demande.

Toutefois, quel que soit le mode utilisé, si le régisseur n'est pas satisfait de la preuve présentée à l'audience par le demandeur prouvant que l'autre partie a reçu copie de la demande, il peut demander une preuve plus complète ou imposer une nouvelle signification.

Si le demandeur ne réussit pas à signifier selon l'un ou l'autre de ces moyens (exemple : la demande lui revient par retour du courrier ou l'huissier ne parvient pas à la signifier), un régisseur peut, sur requête, autoriser un autre mode de signification. En ce cas, adressez-vous immédiatement à l'un des bureaux de la Régie du logement.

Les frais de signification

Si vous agissez à titre de demandeur et que vous voulez que le défendeur soit condamné au paiement des frais de signification de la demande, vous devez aussi remettre au régisseur le reçu de Poste Canada ou la facture de l'huissier attestant le paiement de vos frais de signification. En ce cas, adressez-vous immédiatement à l'un des bureaux de la Régie du logement.

L'amendement

Le demandeur peut compléter ou corriger sa demande par amendement, sans frais. Cet amendement doit être produit à la Régie du logement et signifié à l'autre partie avant l'audience. Vous devez en remettre la preuve de signification au régisseur, au début de l'audience.

Si par amendement une partie est ajoutée, une copie de la demande originaire doit lui être signifiée en même temps que l'amendement

On doit noter qu'un amendement peut être produit verbalement, à l'audience, si l'autre partie est présente et si le régisseur l'autorise.

Le mandat

Si vous avez une raison sérieuse de ne pas vous présenter à l'audience, vous pouvez mandater une autre personne pour vous représenter.

Qui peut vous représenter? Un avocat, votre conjoint, un parent, un allié (ex : votre beau-frère ou belle-sœur), ou à défaut un ami.

Une compagnie ou une coopérative peut être représentée par un de ses officiers, un administrateur, un employé à son seul service ou un avocat.

Si la demande ne concerne qu'une réclamation de 7 000 $ ou moins, un avocat ne peut vous représenter.

Comment donner un mandat? Sauf si vous êtes représenté par un avocat ou par votre conjoint, le mandat doit être écrit, signé par vous et indiquer les motifs de votre absence. La personne que vous chargez de vous représenter ainsi doit accepter de le faire sans exiger de rémunération.

Le mandataire d'une compagnie ou d'une coopérative, à l'exception de l'avocat, doit être autorisé à agir par résolution du conseil d'administration.

Rôle du mandataire : à l'audience, votre mandataire agit en votre nom. Il doit avoir une connaissance personnelle des faits ou à défaut, être en mesure de prouver ces faits par des témoins ou autrement, comme vous l'auriez fait.

La remise

Vous pouvez obtenir la remise de l'audience à une date postérieure en produisant le consentement écrit de l'autre partie.

À défaut, vous ou votre mandataire pouvez demander une remise par écrit, ou le faire verbalement à l'audience. Dans ce cas, il appartient au régisseur, en audience, d'en apprécier le bien-fondé selon les circonstances du dossier.

Toutefois, vous seriez bien avisé, afin d'éviter des déplacements inutiles, de transmettre une copie de votre lettre à l'autre partie ou de l'informer que vous-même ou votre mandataire présenterez une demande verbale de remise lors de l'audience.

L'entente avant audience

Si, avant l'audience, vous concluez une entente, la Régie fermera le dossier sur production d'une copie de cette entente signée par les parties. Toutefois, si le demandeur le requiert par écrit, le dossier sera suspendu. La demande ne sera alors mise au rôle que si une partie le réclame par écrit.

La preuve

Lisez attentivement la demande et les amendements, s'il y a lieu, vous y trouverez tous les éléments à prouver ou à contredire lors de l'audience.

Le demandeur doit prouver chaque élément de la demande au moyen de documents et de témoignages.

De la même façon, c'est dans la demande (et ses amendements) que l'autre partie trouvera les éléments qu'elle entend admettre, préciser ou contredire, par des documents et des témoignages.

Mais, c'est à celui qui prétend avoir exécuté son obligation de le prouver (exemples : le locataire qui prétend avoir payé son loyer doit en faire la preuve; le propriétaire qui prétend avoir fait des réparations doit le prouver).

La loi établit des règles quant à la manière de prouver ses prétentions devant un tribunal et le régisseur doit les appliquer.

La preuve à présenter à l'audience

Dans tous les cas, vous devez présenter :

  • la preuve de signification de la demande et des amendements, s'il y a lieu (pour le demandeur);
  • le bail et les avis de modification subséquents;
  • le mandat, s'il y a lieu.

Et, selon la nature de la demande, voici les preuves supplémentaires dont vous pourriez avoir besoin :

Documents

N.B. - Lorsqu'on envoie des documents à l'autre partie, il faut conserver les preuves d'expédition et de réception et les apporter à l'audience.

  • Les avis requis par la loi (exemples : avis de modification de bail, avis de reprise du logement)
  • la mise en demeure;
  • la correspondance échangée;
  • le bail du nouveau locataire à la suite, par exemple, du déguerpissement de l'ancien locataire;
  • le bail de l'ancien locataire dans un cas de fixation de loyer demandée par un nouveau locataire;
  • les preuves de publicité (coupures de journaux et factures correspondantes);
  • les factures et preuves de paiement;
  • les photographies;
  • les relevés de température, de taux d'humidité;
  • ou tout autre document utile.

S'il existe un écrit que l'on veut utiliser en preuve, il faut le produire à l'audience.

À noter : Les pétitions ne sont admises que dans le cas où les signataires sont présents à l'audience.

Témoignages

Pour vous assurer de la présence d'un témoin, vous devrez, à vos frais, faire signifier par huissier, au moins 3 jours avant la date de l'audience, un ordre de comparaître (subpoena) émis par un régisseur de la Régie du logement. Un régisseur peut réduire ce délai.

Le témoin doit avoir une connaissance personnelle et directe des faits. Avoir entendu dire que des faits se sont produits ou que des paroles ont été prononcées ne prouve ni ces faits, ni ces paroles. Seule la personne qui a une connaissance directe des faits ou qui a participé ou assisté à une conversation peut en témoigner.

Selon la nature de la demande, vous pourriez avoir besoin du témoignage d'un estimateur, d'un expert ou d'un inspecteur. Ce témoin doit être présent à l'audience pour présenter son estimation, son expertise ou son rapport. N'oubliez pas de convoquer la personne qui a signé le document (le signataire), par ordre de comparaître, dès la réception de l'avis d'audition.

Témoignage écrit

Si l'autre partie y consent, une déclaration écrite peut remplacer, à l'audience, le témoignage d'une personne.

À défaut du consentement de l'autre partie, le régisseur peut accepter, exceptionnellement, le témoignage écrit d'une personne. La partie qui désire obtenir une telle autorisation doit en aviser l'autre ou lui en donner copie le plus tôt possible avant l'audience à moins que le régisseur n'en décide autrement.

Le régisseur n'acceptera la production du document que si on lui démontre qu'il est impossible d'obtenir la comparution du témoin ou déraisonnable de l'exiger et que la déclaration a été faite dans des circonstances qui lui donnent des garanties raisonnables de fiabilité.

L'impossibilité de faire comparaître le témoin doit être réelle (exemples : témoin décédé, témoin qui habite hors de la province) et ne doit pas représenter une simple difficulté (exemples : le témoin ne veut pas se présenter, le témoin a dit qu'il avait peur, le témoin travaille le jour de l'audience).

Dans certains cas, la loi permet la production d'un rapport en l'absence de la personne qui l'a préparé. Il s'agit des rapports de certains inspecteurs municipaux ou provinciaux.

Il ne faut pas oublier qu'il s'agit de cas exceptionnels et qu'en règle générale, le témoin doit être présent.

L'audience

Dès la réception de l'avis d'audition transmis par la Régie, assurez-vous :

  • de relire attentivement la demande;
  • (pour le demandeur) d'avoir en main la preuve de signification de la demande et des amendements, s'il y a lieu ;
  • de regrouper tous les documents nécessaires pour faire votre preuve;
  • d'identifier clairement vos documents et de les placer en ordre chronologique, de façon à ne pas avoir à les chercher au moment de l'audience. Cette façon de procéder évitera des pertes de temps à tous. Tant aux personnes qui sont en audience avec vous qu'à celles qui attendent d'être appelées par le régisseur.
  • d'identifier vos témoins et, s'il y a lieu, de les convoquer par ordre de comparaître émis par la Régie du logement.

Vous devez vous présenter à l'heure indiquée sur l'avis d'audition. Les parties et ceux qui assistent à l'audience doivent se comporter avec respect et être vêtus convenablement.

Sauf exception, l'audience fait l'objet d'un enregistrement sonore.

Dès le début de l'audience, les parties s'identifient et elles doivent s'engager par une affirmation solennelle à dire la vérité.

Puis, le demandeur expose sa preuve et l'autre partie présente ensuite la sienne. Chacune des parties a le droit de poser des questions aux témoins.

À l'audience, le régisseur apporte un secours équitable et impartial à chacune des parties.

L'audience ne doit porter que sur le contenu de la demande et des amendements. Le régisseur peut refuser d'entendre un témoin ou la production d'un écrit s'il juge que ce n'est pas pertinent au litige.

Le régisseur, pour rendre sa décision, ne peut tenir compte que des preuves présentées et qui sont pertinentes.

N.B. Si au moment de l'audience devant la Régie du logement, vous aviez produit en preuve des originaux de pièces, il serait pertinent de les récupérer, lorsque la décision est rendue.

La décision

Selon la nature de la demande, une décision peut faire l'objet d'un appel sur permission d'un juge de la Cour du Québec ou être révisée.

Dans certains cas, aucun appel n'est possible (exemple : une demande ayant pour seul objet le recouvrement d'une somme d'argent de 7 000 $ ou moins). Dans certaines circonstances, la rétractation est possible. Consultez la Régie au besoin.

Où s'adresser pour faire exécuter une décision de la Régie du logement? :

Lorsqu'elle est exécutable, une décision de la Régie peut être exécutée après avoir été enregistrée au greffe de la Cour du Québec qui vous émettra un bref d'exécution. Vous devez apporter au greffe une copie conforme de la décision.

Une fois le bref d'exécution émis, un huissier peut procéder à l'exécution de la décision.

Les démarches d'exécution sont faites non par la Régie mais par la partie demanderesse et à ses frais.


Il est fortement recommandé de lire les fiches-conseils Exécuter une décision du tribunal et Contester une décision du tribunal qu'on peut se procurer gratuitement dans n'importe quel bureau de la Régie du logement et de Services Québec. Ces fiches-conseils sont également disponibles à ce site. 

Courrier Imprimer Modifier la taille de la police
Recherche
Rechercher
Accès rapide
Lois et règlements
Nos services en ligne
Suivi de votre dossier
Calcul 2014
Courrier
Bureau des plaintes

Pour les avocats
Le centre de presse
Nos fiches-conseils
Foire aux questions
Les liens

Gouvernement ouvert

Mon dossier citoyen



Politique de confidentialité de la Régie | Accessibilité
Dernière modification : 2011-02-23

Portail Québec

© Gouvernement du Québec, 2006